Guest Post: Dina von Lowenkraft

ARMAND ROSAMILIA

200

On Writing and Music

 

I have a writing quirk that I didn’t realize was a quirk until I started discussing playlists with other authors. They all have playlists that give the mood of their manuscript or specific scenes (fight scenes, love scenes etc.), but I don’t. Instead, I find music for each character. I actually go out and search for CDs that each character would listen to, or in the case of my angel-like Elythia, that they would sing – and no, they don’t sound in any way angelic! If any of you know the group Tool, you’ll know what I mean.

And when I’ve been unsure, I’ve even gone into a music store and described a ‘friend’ I was buying music for. After one such session, I came out with a couple of Angels & Airwaves CDs that turned into Erling’s voice for me. Although Erling is a…

View original post 440 more words

Leave a Reply

