k.d. lang admits Broadway role is ‘outside my comfort zone’

Global News

NEW YORK — If you’re a little surprised to discover that Canadian alt-country star k.d. lang is coming to Broadway, so is lang.

“It is outside my comfort zone. It is something that I never thought I’d be doing,” the Grammy Award-winning singer-songwriter says. “I just try to follow my heart and my muse and the opportunities that arise for me and what’s inspiring me.”

Lang will take over from Fantasia Barrino as the second star vocalist in After Midnight, a musical celebrating Duke Ellington’s years at the Cotton Club nightclub in Harlem. Lang, blessed with androgynous looks and a sensuous voice, starts performances Tuesday and will end her run March 9.

After Midnight is a sort of candy sampler of some two dozen musical numbers that showcase dance, jazz or singing. Lang will be called on to sing “I Can’t Give You Anything But Love,” ”Stormy Weather,” ”On…

View original post 590 more words

Leave a Reply

